16 thoughts on “New Zealand Days: Part 3 – first steps in the NZBC

  1. I would never have imagined a new role for a Dargaville teacher! Well done! “Man in a pub ” you should add – “in Dargaville no less!” (did you actually tell Keith Bracey the details of your fall from grace at DHS? I wonder if he ever mentioned it on air!) . … . . .Meanwhile – back in DArgaville in that exact same era I had a letter 6.6.69 with the same NZBC logo letterhead paper (Starting with payments in NZ POUNDS – and later $1 added for travel from Dargaville to Whangarei and back! ) I had already been receiving NZBC letters and cheques for a couple of years for music performances recorded at 1XN/1ZN WHangarei – part of the NZBC those days (I also recorded in IYA in Wellington studios) ……I have face book messaged you a copy!

    • Thanks for comment. Well, I was a bit surprised myself at the time, and you have reminded me of something. There used to be an auto-electric place down by the river, where Brian Anderson used to work in the school holidays, and when I announced I was after a job in TV, one of the guys there laughed his socks off. Last laugh on me I think. One of the things that used to annoy me was the assumption among the kids at DHS that they would never amount to much, and I think they might have got this from their parents and other adults. I’m glad to hear that quite a few from that time did get past that idea and do well in life. Thanks for the NZBC documents – I used to drive my wife and two other ladies over from Dargaville to Whangarei for choir practice. What kind of music did you play there?

      • For the locals those days it was parochialism – a large proportion never went away and they presumed no one else did either because they knew little about the rest of the country much less the world. I remember 21st birthdays (where extended families attended – so they were from different parts of the community/society – where one side of the room were the local locals who had never been away – all in their black and white suits and ties. Then on the other side of the room were the colorful rest of us! We never had anything to say to each other because they didnt know what we were talking about!). . . . . . .. Which choir did you sing with? (Who was the conductor?) Was it the one that my mum (viola) and dad (timpani) played music in that did oratorios?

      • I like your picture of Dargaville society! Re the Whangarei choir, it wasn’t me who sang, but my wife Margaret, who worked at Dargaville hospital. They did play oratorios but she can’t remember what the choir was called. She does remember a viola palyer, so that was probably your mum.

      • The bands in my mum and dads music school Ben Emmetts Accordions (with drums piano trumpet etc) played everything from classical to latin (especially my sister and I who loved the really unusual latin rhythms including 5/4) . We are playing together again after all these decades .. .. .with an awesome sax/trumpet/clarinet muso.

      • Margaret also remembers the Emmetts! She says she knew them as friends of Brian & Coral Anderson, great friends of ours, who helped us a lot when we landed in Dargaville like Martians, and then all the time we were in NZ. Brian played the piano. Good to hear you are still musically active! Margaret has sung in various choirs over here, and I play the mandolin ( – not very well……………….)

      • I am sorry but I don’t know where you got the idea that we didn’t think we would amount to much – Ballet Dancer, Karate Champion, Lawyers, Financial Advisor in the City, International Business man, Film Stage and Festival Actor, Co founder of Tesla, High School Head master, Primary School Head Master, Primary School Teacher and All Black and that was just from my year. The thing about Dargaville you couldn’t stay as there was not the jobs so you had to leave. Dargaville was like NZ if you had any creativity or aspiration you went and thats what most of us did.

      • Thanks Tel. I can anwer your question, It’s simple; I got that impression from talking to some of your peers in that place at that time. Good to have your catalogue of Dargaville high achieving alumni, but I wonder if any of those spendid folk would have indicated their ambitions as school students. I also refer you to Sonicjett’s astute comment.

  2. Interesting.Keith had family connections around Dargaville. DID you know a guy in TV with last name Proud foot?

    • Thanks Kathy. I didn’t know Keith B had Dargaville connections. Strange thing also was that I never bumped into him in Auckland. I have always wanted to thank him. The name Proudfoot does ring a tiny bell, but I can’t place him – do you have any details?

  3. Pingback: New Zealand Days: Part 4 – Wellington | Peter Dewrance

  4. Tel Fraser – it was more that THOSE DAYS small town society didn’t THINK that local people would amount to anything! To a degree it is the same these days. We treasure the high achievers that “got away” and especially the ones that did interesting and creative things!!

Leave a comment